A MUSICAL SAMPLER

I have two muses.  When I was in grade school, I became interested in writing musicals.  I started to write scripts, and wanted to compose.   I asked my parents to buy a piano.

My parents took some time to think about it, and in this time I continued to write.  When they bought the piano, and I began lessons, I also started to compose.  But I had been marked for life as a writer.

So I pursue music and literature, and do the best I can with both.   A number of the artists I am most interested in, including Aeschylus, Guillaume de Machaut, Richard Wagner and Jason Robert Brown, have also pursued both.

Despite my musical background, including eleven years of piano, studies in theory, music history and composition, and experience as a musician, people still refuse to believe I’m a composer.  The writer is a bit easier for them to visualize.  A couple of years ago, I went to the store, and bought a book of music by Cole Porter.  When I was checking out, the cashier said to my wife, “This must be yours.  He (meaning me) doesn’t look like a musician.”

But I am a musician.  Among my compositions is a Piano Sonata in D Minor.  I recorded it at Subcat in Syracuse.  Sam Patterelli, who was in my high school music theory class, acted as my recording engineer.

We put the second movement up on YouTube, and I am posting it here.  The photos are by my sister-in-law, Cheryl Rendino, who is a gifted landscape photographer.

I hope you like it.

 

About jalesy55

Charles Lupia is a playwright, freelance writer and lawyer. His blogs cover a range of topics, from politics to entertainment.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, music, Musical Theatre, piano and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

